I am now Without for my Children until 7th July! – Case 102

rangitoto browns bay

This is case study number 102

This is Anon’s Story:

Anon – Tell us about what is going on with your situation?

I am a working single parent with two young kids, they go to Dads 4 days in two weeks.

We always had a private arrangement of $300 a week I paid for most things the kids needed unless Dad wished to purchase anything.

They never went without. Now Dad wants to go through IRD and due to him being in a Trust hes lowered his wage to the lowest bracket, is on a farm so doesn’t pay rent and has a partner so they have two salaries coming in.

I am now without for my children until 7th July!

.

How much did you receive on the old formula?

$1200

On the NEW formula what will that amount be per month?

$534

Are you happy with the new formula?

No

Has anything (outside of the new formula) changed that may have contributed to the change in amounts that you will recieve/pay?

Their Dad has dropped his salary paid by his trust

What are your main reasons for being not happy with it?

I do understand he was struggling on $1200 so tried to agree to another arrangement… But how can he justify that $534 is enough for two children; your own flesh and blood.

I have had to take on a second job… Im exhausted!

If child support was a set amount per child split between both parents for the basic necessities, what do you think is a fair amount per month per child?

$600 min per child

What else would you like to say?

These new changes are worrying, the stress is making me ill and I am sure I am not the only one.

All I want is for things to be fair. You shouldnt be able to adjust your salary.

I am waiting for an assessment with IRD, but I have no idea of what the outcome could be…

Anon – Thanks for sharing with us.

We want to hear your story!

If you would be happy to share your story with our community – we would love to hear it. Please fill out our Case Study submission.

Image credit

Disclaimer: Testimonials, case studies, and claims made at childsupportnz.com are unverified results that have been forwarded to us by users or told to us by clients, and may not reflect the typical person’s experience, and may not apply to the average person.

(Visited 420 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

comments

2 Comments

  1. I get $18 a month for my 4 year old. There should be a minimum amount amount non custodial parent should pay. Should be more than what I am entitled to but not 600 amount month

  2. Im a single parent too, my ex pays $34 a month. it has increased from $17 when my daughter was a baby. The new assessment is $154. I feel very grateful for that. Although this amount has reduced my working for families payment. I work full time and childcare alone is $110 a week after subsidy. My ex has chosen not to participate in the parenting of my daughter and is currently a year behind in payments, so it may not seem like it but you are a lot better off than most of us.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.